CCNP Artifact Validation

Demonstrate command of advanced routing and switching.

   This artifact demonstrates proficiency of advanced routing and switching skills.

   Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) certification validates the ability to design, implement, verify and troubleshoot local and wide-area enterprise networks (Cisco, 2013). 
Disciplines include:
  • Routing protocols. 
  • EIGRP 
  • OSPF 
  • BGP 
  • Switching architecture. 
  • Inter-VLAN routing. 
  • Spanning Tree. 
  • High availability (e.g., HSRP, VRRP, GLBP). 
  • Load balancing (e.g., EtherChannel). 
Cisco offers multiple levels of network certification: 
  •  Cisco Certified Entry Network Technician (CCENT). 
  • Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA). 
  • Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP). 
  • Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert (CCIE). 
   CCNA certification is as a prerequisite for the CCNP certification.

   The CCNP certification process consists of three proctored exams: 
  • 642-902:  Implementing Cisco IP Routing (ROUTE) 
  • 642-813:  Implementing Cisco IP Switched Network (SWITCH) 
  • 642-832:  Troubleshooting and Maintaining Cisco IP Networks (TSHOOT). 
   The entire certification process took one year to complete.  I achieved the CCNP certification through a series of lectures, discussions, course materials and extensive lab work.    

   Every systems administrator should understand routing and switching.  Networking fundamentals provide the foundations for all other network systems Cisco Certified Network Professional skill-sets are applicable to the entire infrastructure (e.g., Microsoft, Linux, etc..).  Additionally, network administrators with Cisco backgrounds should be capable of working with most other brands of networking equipment (e.g., Juniper, Fortinet, etc..).  


Cisco, 2013.  CCNP Overview.  Retrieved December, 2013,  from Cisco Systems, Inc. :  


Post a Comment

My Instagram